If you don’t succeed, try, try again…

So when I got the news I had high cholesterol, I decided I needed to get off my butt and do something.  You’re probably thinking, because of this blog, that the first thing I did was run out and start exercising, right?  Wrong.

I went out and bought a bunch of low cholesterol cookbooks. Trying to go “low cholesterol” didn’t work out very well. I tried…

So my next step was getting off my butt. In order to do this, I wanted to find a conservative program. I searched high and low on the internet and stumbled across Cool Running’s Couch to 5k plan.

I started out sticking to it and then I broke the cardinal rule of training plans: I went too hard too quickly. I felt good, but I blew it. I ended getting tendinitis in my hip and kept aggrevating at work and simply wouldn’t go away. I ended up doing physical therapy for several months which could’ve been all avoided had I just stuck with plan….

The finish line: a good program to use is a couch to 5k plan. Also, as tempting as it may be, stick to the training plan. Don’t forget there’s a long term goal when trying to get back in shape.

-T

Leave a Reply

