Ride of shame

I had to take the ride of shame 40 miles into the 56 mile bike ride today.

Let me rephrase, after thinking about it, I chose to take the rid of shame.  I started getting “foggy” and caught myself drifting into the other lane.

Looking back at it, I really think I could’ve finished.  The problem was it was 100+, 12:15, and with 16 miles to go, I would’ve been out another hour at least.  You can to ask yourself, do you finish ans risk an injury setback or do you play itself and look at the long term goal?  My answer was play it safe and live to do it again.  I’m not a PR or ER (personal record or emergency room) type of person.

Looking back, this all started yesterday. First, I had a poor breakfast to eat.  Second. I skipped lunch because the breakfast was so big.  Finally, I ruined it by drinking a big old 32 oz soda, ribeye sandwich, and fries for dinner.  I should have concentrated on eating properly for such a big day of training.  Afterall, I was going to practically do the entire half ironman.  Instead, a lost focus and blew it…

And to help you not make the same mistake I made, here’s another article on training in the heat.

Leave a Reply

